POISON Announces New Studio Album POISON'D! (Press Release)

Date April 3, 2007 / 598 reads

Poison'd, the new studio album from POISON, arrives in stores June 5, 2007! Produced by Don Was, Poison'd features Poison's hot new versions of their favorite rock classics, originally recorded by David Bowie, The Rolling Stones, The Cars, Sweet, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and many more!

Hollywood, Calif., -- Poison, one of rock's most iconic and enduring bands, has recorded a new album of cover songs, featuring many of their favorite rock classics. Poison'd, the band's first new studio album since 2002, will be released June 5 on CD and digitally by EMI America Records/Capitol.
Featuring Poison's original members, Bret Michaels (vocals), C.C. DeVille (guitar), Rikki Rockett (drums) and Bobby Dall (bass), Poison'd presents the band's first new studio recordings since 2002's Hollyweird.

Produced by Don Was at Hensen Recording Studios in Hollywood, Poison'd packs 13 explosive tracks, including new recordings of David Bowie's "Suffragette City," The Cars' "You're Just What I Needed," The Romantics' "What I Like About You," Sweet's "Little Willy," The Marshall Tucker Band's "Can't You See" and The Rolling Stones' "Dead Flowers." Some of Poison's best previously recorded covers are also featured on Poison'd, including KISS' "Rock and Roll All Nite," Grand Funk Railroad's "We're An American Band" and Loggins and Messina's "Your Mama Don't Dance."
"Poison is one of the greatest rock 'n roll bands in the world and, after 20 years, they can slam better than ever," says Poison'd producer Don Was. "They're powerful musicians and very cool guys. We had a lot of fun making this album and I think you can hear it in the grooves -- it's got the jive and is truly alive! I urge everyone to listen to it!"

Following the release of Poison'd, Poison will hit the road again on June 12 for a major North American summer concert tour. Tour dates and details will be announced and posted to the band's official website as they are confirmed. Visit www.poisonweb.com and www.myspace.com/poison for the latest Poison news and links to other Poison-related websites.
In July, VH1 will premiere a new reality show, "Rock of Love with Bret Michaels." VH1's description of the show has "the hard-rockin' Poison front man looking for a woman who can truly keep up with his rock-n-roll lifestyle and not become jealous of his one true passion -- performing, which has been the reason for and destruction of most of his relationships."

Poison'd (CD and Digital Album)(Not Final Sequence):
1. Little Willy (originally performed by Sweet)
2. Suffragette City (originally performed by David Bowie)
3. I Never Cry (originally performed by Alice Cooper)
4. I Need to Know (originally performed by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
5. Can't You See (originally performed by The Marshall Tucker Band)
6. What I Like About You (originally performed by The Romantics)
7. Dead Flowers (originally performed by The Rolling Stones)
8. Just What I Needed (originally performed by The Cars)
9. Rock and Roll All Nite (originally performed by Kiss)
10. Squeeze Box (originally performed by The Who)
11. Your Mama Don't Dance (originally performed by Loggins & Messina)
12. You Don't Mess Around With Jim (originally performed by Jim Croce)
13. We're An American Band (originally performed by Grand Funk Railroad).

Tracks 1-8: produced by Don Was - 2007 (new recordings), Track 9: produced by Rick Rubin, Less Than Zero soundtrack - 1987, Track 10: produced by Thom Panunzio, Hollyweird - 2002, Track 11: produced by Tom Werman, Open Up and Say ... Ahh! - 1988, Track 12: produced by Ric Browdie - 1987; bonus track on Look What The Cat Dragged In reissue (2006), Track 13: produced by Don Was, The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock - 2006.