POISON's Crack a Smile Album Scheduled For a Nov. 2 Release

Date September 2, 1999 / 1311 reads

According to CDNow, Crack A Smile, the never released, but never forgotten album from Poison, is now scheduled for a Nov. 2 release on Capitol Records. The new version, freshly titled, Crack A Smile and More, will include the original Crack A Smile album plus additional bonus tracks.

Recorded in 1996, the album got shelved in favor of a 1996's Greatest Hits 1986-1996, which actually included two songs originally meant for Crack A Smile -- "Sexual Thing" and "Lay Your Body Down." Crack A Smile has previously been available only as a bootleg and has been a hot commodity on eBay.com, the online auction site.

The cassette version of Crack A Smile includes two extra tracks not on the bootleg ("Mind Tripper," "I Want More"); the CD version includes seven bonus tracks, six of which were recorded from The band's Nov. 19, 1990 MTV Unplugged set ("Talk Dirty To Me," "Every Rose Has Its Thorn," "Your Mama Don't Dance," among others).

Here is the track listing for Crack A Smile:

1. "Best Thing You Ever Had"
2. "Shut Up and Make Love"
3. "Baby Gets Around"
4. "Cover of the Rolling Stone"
5. "Let Me Be The One"
6. "Mr. Smiley"
7. "Sexual Thing"
8. "Lay Your Body Down"
9. "No Ring, No Gets"
10. "That's the Way I Like It"
11. "Tragically Unhip"
12. "Doin' As I See On My TV"
13. "I Want More" (on cassette version only)
14. "Mind Tripper" (on cassette version only)

Bonus Tracks (from MTV Unplugged except for *):

1. "Your Mama Don't Dance"
2. "Good Love"
3. "Every Rose Has Its Thorn"
4. "Let It Play"
5. "Unskinny Bop"
6 "Talk Dirty To Me"
7. "Rock and Roll All Nite"*